Runeforging, and other things.

12 Sep

The other day, four Blizzard developers did a Reddit AMA (Ask Me Anything), similar to their twitter Q&As from a couple years ago. This allowed them to pick and choose through (what was undoubtedly) a mass influx of questions ranging from all topics. The full transcript, sorted by each dev’s answers can be found here, but I do want to make special mention of one particular question/answer combo (that should be) of interest to every death knight out there…

A while back you guys said that “Runeforging will get some changes to make it less boring.”, but we have yet to see or hear anything about this. Is this something still being looked into? Or was it scrapped entirely?

As with many things, if we can’t do something right, we end up not doing it (yet). We still aren’t close to satisfied with the Runeforging system as it currently stands, but we also didn’t have an overhaul to that system that we were happy with. It’s a feature we’re still discussing and working on.

So, naturally I have *no frickin clue* what they could do with Runeforging, but I do have an idea that they SHOULD implement.

For one thing, I think a “rune tracing” idea is long overdue. Something in the same line as enchanting scrolls have basically helped overhaul the profession entirely, rune scrolls could help overhaul runeforging entirely. But this would also generate a problem, if you get inside of Blizzard’s mind… This would make Acherus almost entirely redundant. The only reason anybody would go there would be to switch specs at some point. Honestly, is that such a bad thing? Do we really NEED Acherus anymore after we’ve broken free of the scourge at the Battle of Light’s Hope?  Personally, I would welcome a chance to never need to go back there again. My death gate spell isn’t even on my bars anymore (and honestly, hasn’t been in a long ass time). Last time I went back there? To runeforge my Gurthalak and Experimental Speciman Slicer. Last time I went there before that? When I unlearned my 2h frost spec and plugged a blood spec back in there (January maybe?)…

Now then, a lot of my search hits lately have come from people talking about “Blood Boil”.. I suppose that kind of makes sense, considering the title of an earlier post from a couple weeks back, but I’ve noticed a theme. A lot of people are saying (or at least google searching) that Blood Boil hits harder than Heart Strike, or that Blood Boil is overpowered, or that blood AOE is over powered, and varied and sundry other wordings, misspellings, and queries, exclamations, proclamations, and filth-ridden googleings that led people here.  I was pretty certain that I had touched on this before, but I realize that I didn’t give any sort of proof to back up my claims. This is where skada comes in. I tanked normal Dragon Soul the other night (wednesday), and these are the numbers I got from the entire evening… from the first trash pull just inside the doors, until we gave “Destroyer’s End” to a couple of 3rd or 4th alts.

I didn’t screenshot the numbers, Over the course of an entire DS normal run -

Blood Boil accounted for 6.5M damage, Heart Strike accounted for 3.6M.

BB had a smaller damage range (4.7k-33.6k), averaging 10.4k

HS had a lower minimum (1.8k) and a higher maximum (37.2k) with a higher average (14.7k)

Those numbers DO include Madness (i forgot to snapshot the numbers after spine), so they will be skewed a bit higher than normal, but the trend is going to be the same, at least at 85 with Dragon Soul normal gear (my DK is sitting at ilvl 394). Blood Boil does not hit harder than Heart Strike, and as such will not be preferable for single target other than when it’s free, or for refreshing diseases in between outbreaks. However, with HS’s limp-noodle-of-a-cleave, it IS preferable on 3+ targets though.

All that said, IS blood boil a little overpowered? Hrmm… maybe a bit, but I think it’s more that heart strike is UNDERpowered in comparison. HS just isn’t always a compelling enough choice to hit, even on single targets, because of the disease refresher mechanic. Of course, theoretically, you still have outbreak every 1 minute, so if you had REALLY bad luck with procs, you would only need to “force” a refresh every when it’s on cooldown, and then only once (because durations are hard).

One Response to “Runeforging, and other things.”

  1. Prinnie Dood September 17, 2012 at 10:39 am #

    My hearth is in Dal for a quick teleport to Org. I admit using my Death Gate as a free/quick/whenever I want “teleport” to the Eastern Kingdoms. Easy access to three major continents!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,357 other followers

