Soloing Things – Cataclysm Edition!

3 Sep

Pre-expansion boredom has continued to creep my general direction, so i’ve spent some time doing things I haven’t usually cared about. I did some archaeology and fishing on my druid (WEIRD right?). I found myself grasping for more THINGS to do to occupy my in-game time. I had dropped skinning on my DK in favor of mining, because a crit bonus for a tank is pretty useless, by and large, but a stam bonus isn’t terrible. Then it occurs to me that I will have *two* stam bonuses come MoP (actually, I do NOW too, but that’s neither here nor there honestly) from mining and scribe-only shoulder enchants. So, I was pondering dropping inscription for… something else. This is when it occurred to me that I never got my Therazane rep high enough to buy the enchants, because well… I was a scribe damnit, what do I need THOSE things for?  A quick check of the reputation pane showed me at honored. “Ugh, not even revered? I’ll have to fix that before tuesday.” So, I went and dug (and dusted off) my Therazane tabard, and had a thought… “Why not try soloing some of the level 85 normal mode dungeons?”

First stop was Grim Batol. The *real* boss here is the trash. Holy crapski does that stuff hit hard. On the plus side, you can wipe out a good portion of it with dragons AND… since you’re solo, you can ride more than one! (I only did one drake because I wanted to weaken it, but not kill it, because I don’t get rep for what the drake kills). A couple moderately painful trash pulls later, and i’m staring at General Umbriss. Umbriss was a piece of cake really. Good gear, and rolling blood to bring the troggs down fast, (plus LOTS of Crimson Scourge procs) avoid the Blitz charges and Ground Slams, and he’s dead before you know it.

Shambled my way towards the next boss, and the trash leading up to him *kicked my ass*. “Huh… I remember those guys hitting hard… this might take a bit of work.” After a brisk corpse-run, and jog back to where Throngus was pathing, I pulled the trash much more carefully. They still kicked my ass, but I lived through it. (Nicely timed interrupts, AMS, AMZ, the whole 9 guys. These packs are no joke) After healing back up, I waited for him to path back towards me, and pulled him. His first weapon-draw was Mace… For the hell of it I wanted to see if I could survive those hits. I *probably* could’ve, but it was just easier to kite him and death strike a couple times on the run-by, making sure I avoid cave-ins. After the mace was his shield. Simple enough to run around, and the arrows don’t hurt very badly either (i ended the shield phase at ~50% health, and could heal up quickly afterwords). Main thing to remember is to make sure he’s not near a cave-in area when he weapon-switches… Nothing worse than having to try and edge around perma-ground-AOE in order to attack him. Dual swords was the easiest by far. The debuff was laughable, and I’m not entirely sure he ever penetrated my blood shield with them. Another mace & shield phase, and he dropped like a rock. Then one more pack of those god-forsaken casters with the Ettin chained up. I learned from my earlier mistake, though, and killed them without TOO much pain.

I honestly didn’t think I would be able to solo Dragha at all. I fully expected that the fire elementals would blister me beyond healing, but honestly it wasn’t terrible. Well timed Anti-Magic Shells (about every other elemental), and simply saving a couple death strikes for AFTER the explosions you can’t AMS through made it not terrible. When Dragha gets on Valiona, the damage goes up a bit, but not terribly so. Make sure you don’t stand in the shit on the ground, and you should generally be fine. This is all about timing and self-heals. Also, Valiona didn’t do her giant breath attack… not sure if that’s a bug or intentional, but I was grateful either way.

After Dragha, the trash is painful. The empowered elementals can really mess you up if you’re not paying attention. There was actually one point where I dropped down to 42 HEALTH. Not 4200, not 42000, but 42. Period. Anyway, Careful pulls lead me to Erudax, which turned out to be a much easier fight than I expected. Chains of Ice the solo add that comes out after Shadow Gale, and make sure you’re standing in the safe spot when it happens.  Congrats, you just soloed Grim Batol. Don’t you feel special? Pat yourself on the back (I sure as hell did).

After Grim Batol, I went to Lost City of the Tol’Vir. (I should note that I didn’t *mean* for talking about GB to end up so long, but there it is anyway. LC will be much shorter, because I said it will). The trash in Lost City is nothing to write home about. Pretty tank and spank, kill casters first, watch out for the pygmy firebreathers, yadda yadda yadda. The first boss, General Husam is also surprisingly straightforward. Don’t stand in the bad shit, and… well, don’t stand in the bad shit. Shocker.

Lockmaw is also a lot easier than I expected. The poison dot that he puts on you is easily healed through via death strike, and the baby alligators are blown up pretty simply with a couple well timed blood boils to keep diseases rolling on them. Enjoy your croc-skin boots, and move on, there’s nothing to see here.

High Prophet Barim is easy, but a rather long fight. The first phase is basic “don’t stand in bad shit”, and the damage taken is pretty low overall. The second phase (shadow phase?) is what makes this fight long. Killing the spirit is relatively easy, but you have to constantly move him around the floor the entire time. Since you’re SOLOING this place, you’re the only person that’ll get soul fragmented, so letting them catch up to you and go kaboom can probably wear you out pretty well, just keep moving. Backwards walking is enough, since the fragments move slowly and don’t move for several seconds after they first spawn.

Once you’ve killed Barim, hop up to face Siamat… I should warn you now, this fight is *hard*. Luckily, DKs are uniquely suited to handling this fight. Even still, expect to take lots of damage, and almost die a couple times. Pull the boss, kill the adds. Use your AMS liberally(since you can’t interrupt the damn adds), and burn the adds down as quickly as possible. Rune tap as much as you can, cause your health will fluctuate lots. When Siamat himself becomes damageable, go all out. Ignore the others. Siamat, himself, doesn’t hit for very much physically, but he continues spawning adds that will lightning bolt you throughout. At this point it’s pretty much a race to the finish. Heal yourself as much as possible, use your cooldowns (don’t forget about Empower Runic Weapon! That’s as much a survivability CD as it is a DPS one. 4 death strikes under vampiric blood can account for LOTS of health). If you’re good, use your CDs properly, and maybe a bit lucky, Siamat will fall before you. This fight is honestly about cooldown usage above anything else.

7 Responses to “Soloing Things – Cataclysm Edition!”

  1. mashi. September 4, 2012 at 2:57 am #

    Great, now im going to give GB ago aswell :) Things like this made me go back to dks for MoP, been doing solo runs as warr and pala during cata but the limits has been very small.. But hey, take a look on Raewgyn (darkkiller500), what hasnt he soloed by now..

    • achloryn September 4, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

      Raegwyn is also one of those *extreme* circumstance freaks of nature. I will admit to him being a bit of inspiration to me soloing content, but I know better than to try and get up to his level of doing things. Hell, I tried soloing heroic stonecore and got my ass solidly handed to me… Those trash hurt. I couldn’t imagine doing the second AND third boss of H-SC solo, at the same time… just for the hell of it.

      Raegwyn is hardcore soloer. I am much more casual-core in that respect. Imagine a guild competing for world first heroic kills, and a guild who simply manages to clear heroic content. Both are still pretty damn good, but they’re not really in the same league as each other.

      • mashi. September 4, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

        Idd he is, but then again he can pick any hc guild he wants and get the gear. He must grind raids for weeks before he release the content.. Take the last one for example, i don’t think he just slapped together 10 DK to do DS in a afternoon :P

        I do it must for fun and to see if i can handle pressure and multitasking, take Corla and Karsh in Blackrock.. even does where a challenge at the start for me and im doing this in crap ruthless ^^ Tomorrow im getting back to Throne of Tides :D

  2. Navimie September 4, 2012 at 7:29 pm #

    Nice! I have only tried to do Stonecore (for drake obviously) but I haven’t tried to do the boss with the nasty stomp yet. Too chicken! Now I want to go try GB (but I’d better fix my tanking spec first!)

    • achloryn September 5, 2012 at 1:24 am #

      What do you mean “fix your tanking spec”? There’s only one spec! I’m not sure how much of a difference overall some of the talents would make to your tanking (except maybe the cenarion ward/renewal talents).

      I am, of course, assuming that your tank is a druid, right?

      • Navimie September 5, 2012 at 9:55 am #

        true! when I mean fix, i mean actually go guardian since i was trying to tank before patch, then after patch i wanted to try all the resto things so i made two resto specs with different talents! LOL! So now I am switching one back to guardian. And now i need to reglyph…

  3. Bosstiger September 10, 2012 at 5:32 am #

    Reblogged this on Gigable – Tech Blog.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,344 other followers

