Lowbie PvP – Take 2

25 Jun

I’ve been spending a lot of time in lowbie battlegrounds on various toons. You may remember a few months back when I mentioned that I was twinking in BGs with a friend of mine on the horde side. Well, that ended up not lasting too much longer, sadly. I kinda lost interest in WoW for a while, and then I got back into it with other things in mind. You may also remember that I mentioned about a year ago that I levelled a warlock strictly through pvp a good chunk of the ways. (I would link the post, but damned if I remember WHEN it was, or what I might’ve titled it)  Since i’m not made of money, I only took 2 toons with me to Rexxar, and everything else is kinda getting shunted to the side. I may eventually bring another toon over, but right now I don’t have any plans to do so.

Before the server move was complete, I found myself levelling a hunter almost unexpectedly. Initially it was just a toon to check out Rexxar and see what it’s people were like, but I found myself really enjoying it. A wild hair crossed my brain and next thing I know, I am level  70 and XP locking him for some still-unknown reason and taking him into battlegrounds to see how I would fare (not well, I should say).

See, here’s a dirty little secret folks… I kinda like PvP.

Now i’m not a fan of world pvp, and I am still 110% in support of our move to a non-pvp realm. Ganking while questing and being attacked by someone in excess of 50 levels above me is not my idea of a good time. Blizz is trying to make world pvp MORE of a thing by putting in dismounting weapons and lowering the levels of city guards on pvp realms, and that’s just not for me. But battlegrounds? Controlled chaos, as it were… well NOW we’re talking.

I think I picked the hunter, at the start, because I know they can be pretty damn devastating at low levels. But then, level 70 is NOT “low level” anymore really. It didn’t take long before I had a full set of Brutal Gladiator pvp gear on my hunter (minus weapon and a couple offset pieces) and then I was in the battlegrounds… doing absolute bupkiss. I felt like a waste of space, even in spite of my gear. Well, that was frustrating. It wasn’t fun for me. I know i was CAPABLE of having fun in BGs, and my fun isn’t even always dependent on me being top of the leaderboard (although, I will freely admit, that DOES make things better.)

There was a little nagging coming from the back of my something-I-couldn’t-pin-down. And then it happened. That masterful wordsmith sonofabitch Cynwise made a short (for him) post on his tumblr. After reading this, I could finally pinpoint where that nagging came from… It was one of my (many) toons back on Azgalor that I had levelled some time ago, and gave up on shortly after hitting 85, Reloran my warlock. See, as I mentioned earlier, this guy was levelled up mostly through PvP. Well… all told it was about half and half. He made it up until somewhere close to the Outlands levels (I think I gave up PvP on him somewhere around 55) almost exclusively through BGs. That was by far one of the most fun levelling experiences I have *ever* had.

After reading, and re-reading Cyn’s post, that nagging in the back of my brain got louder and more persistent. “Remember how much fun you had doing those BGs?” “Remember how AWESOME it felt when you got your Wrecking Ball achieve? Or when you crossed 5000 HKs? Remember how much FUN you had just being a little ball of CHAOS out there, fearbombing, peeling, nuking, dotting, being generally underestimated and wreaking havoc across the levelling brackets?”

I do remember. I remember it fondly. And thus, Crakelbur was born, and I have been having a BLAST with him (although I do kinda wish I had gone with human again instead of gnome, but alas). Right now, he’s sitting at level 18, and it is officially too late for me to reroll him because he just crossed a pretty big threshold.

1000 Little Indians, lying at my feetI know 1000 isn’t all that big in the grand scheme of things, but for someone who is decidedly NOT a big PvP’er, it’s a pretty big deal.

3 Responses to “Lowbie PvP – Take 2”

  1. Cynwise June 25, 2012 at 10:30 am #

    Give in to the dark side! :D

  2. Pixelated Executioner June 25, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

    I really should level Fierevere to fight alongside you.

    That’d be total chaos, and worth recording for some video, I think. XD

  3. sleukas July 8, 2012 at 10:41 am #

    Did this with starter acc

    proof: http://eu.battle.net/wow/en/character/draenor/Stalius/achievement#95:a516

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,344 other followers

