What makes a guild work?

14 Jun

It takes all fucking types people.

 

I’m gonna rant a bit. If you need your NSFW warning for language or something, well here it is. Oh wait, I already cussed in the first line. Oh well.

 

My guild has been in existence for almost a year. Today, shit just got *real* over some of the dumbest shit imaginable. I think it’s the first time anyone’s had to lock a thread because people couldn’t play nice. Now, yes it’s good that we’ve gone this long without having to do that, it doesn’t make the let down from actually HAVING to do it any lesser. As it turns out, i’m still pretty goddamn annoyed that two grown men couldn’t step away from the keyboard for a few minutes after I said “OK, just drop it now.”

 

I’m not naming names, but I know one of them reads my blog. Hell, he’ll probably comment in here saying it was him, cause he’s just weird like that. That’s okay though.

 

But honestly folks. We’ve been raiding for 6 months straight, plus for 4 or 5 months back in Wrath, and while all the individuals may not get always get along, we’ve really not had any BIG issues that have made me question whether it’s worth the headache. Now, don’t get me wrong, i’m not quitting my guild, or retiring from raid leading or anything like that. But the fact that I had to weigh it all out in my head at all is kind of a red flag. I joined this guild because of a couple people, ultimately. BUT, i’ve stayed here for so long because I generally enjoy EVERYONE’S company. Now there’s times I want to strangle a person, but I think that comes from the fact that i’m an officer and raid leader. Or it could just be human nature that every now and again we wanna knock someone’s head against another person’s…. idk. Either way though, our guild has been pretty successful in what it was set out to do, and I feel largely responsible for that, as an officer, a raid leader, AND as a member of the guild.

 

Later on, one of the parties involved did apologize to the other for his part in the issue, and I was glad to see that, but even still. Last time I checked, pretty much everyone in the guild is an adult. Hell, everyone in the guild is over 21, as far as I know. We’re not a bunch of whiny little high schoolers with high school drama and all the fun little namecalling associated with it. (Except when the name calling is done in fun. Amber is a cuntcanoe, because that phrase makes me laugh, and she won’t mind me saying that about her <3)

 

Anyway, back to the title of today’s post… What makes a guild work? Is it everybody getting along with everybody? No… that’s not it. People have different personalities, so there will occasionally be problems. Is it everyone working towards a common goal? No, because there will be varying opinions on how to ACHIEVE those goals. Is it a ruler with an iron fist? Pfft please. Amber’s as big of a non-confrontational person as I am. What makes a guild work? I can’t answer that, because every guild is going to work differently, and I think that’s a big part of why SiB works at large. We are all a VERY different bunch of people. We don’t always get along. I can name people who flat out DISLIKE each other, but they’ve agreed to generally leave that by the wayside in order to make the guild work.

 

Now, don’t misunderstand me. I don’t expect everything to be fluffy bunnies all the time. Since some people don’t like each other, I fully expect that sometimes tempers might flare up and cause shit to happen. I guess I was just caught off guard with it today, and felt like sharing it with all 7 of you that read my shit.

6 Responses to “What makes a guild work?”

  1. Saga June 15, 2011 at 4:14 am #

    It’s always frustrating when people argue in the guild – and it’s sometimes difficult to make them resolve it. Hopefully though, with everyone being adults, it should be possible.

    I’m not quite sure what makes a guild work and not work – in my guild I think some things work and others don’t work as well. We’re managing, but I can definitely see things that could be improved. In the end, I think what really makes people stick together is having a common goal (like killing internet dragons), and as long as that goal is the same, they stick together despite differences in personality/temper.

    That said, the personality/temper clash probably can’t be too big. But it seems that up to this point your guild members have managed it fine, so I’m sure that once they calm down they’ll resolve it.

  2. Krikket June 15, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    Oh come on Fuzz, I’m pretty sure you were around for the “great Mork flounce”. It’s not the first time. It probably won’t be the last. It looks like it’s gone entirely now, but that was a NASTY thread.

    I know it’s frustrating for you, but there are going to be blowups from time to time. Because your guild – like most guild – is filled with PEOPLE.

    I’m sure there are some all-srs-bsns guilds where there’s very little social component, so you really don’t see stuff like that, but I also don’t think guilds like that would be all that much fun. And I say that as one of those people who has a pretty serious personal issue with one of my guild-mates. It’s all a trade-off, and for me, it’s worth it.

    • achloryn June 15, 2011 at 11:49 am #

      I had honestly forgotten about the whole Mork thing. hahah. Probably for the best.

  3. Kotakh June 15, 2011 at 9:10 am #

    While the discussion did get a bit heated, i still dont think the thread should have been locked. (Especially since you locked it literally 2 sec before i hit publish on my apologie lol )

    The topic obvioulsy needed to be talked about. Many people didnt seem to know about some of the “rules”. The end result of the discussion is a positive one imo because now everyone knows about the priority of raid sign up. Some ppl might not like it but thats something else entirely.

    The “We’re all adult here” expression has always made me laugh…as if adult never get into heated discussion lol. In my experience, there’s a lot more heated discussion between adult than between kids.

    • achloryn June 15, 2011 at 11:53 am #

      “In my experience, there’s a lot more heated discussion between adult than between kids.”
      Heh.. you obviously didn’t go to my high school.

      Also, I didn’t lock that thread–Amber did =P

      Anyway, yes I know adults get heated too, but when things turn into a pissing match (which is where I felt like that thread was going) then I feel it’s time to step in. I’ve no problem discussing the policies with anyone, but there’s a right way to do it and a not-so-right way to do it.

  4. theerivs June 27, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    I blame Kotex. That is all.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,357 other followers

